Crystal Blue

It’s dawn and I slip out of the house and into the barn. I lift the lid to the vat holding my milk – I see the thin layer of cream on top has slightly pulled away from the sides revealing the deep yellow pool of whey below – yes.

I move to the other vat holding Jason’s milk. Again, I see small islands of cream floating on a golden sea of whey – “Crystal Blue” I think to myself and in that instant I remember the dream I had last night.

I am in the creamery of the Monastery of Mont- Laurier, the Sisters are moving about their work. They ladle the glistening curd gently down into each mold, whispering so faint a chant that I can only hear the collective sound their breath makes passing over their lips. Their motions are in synch, like a clock, and as they lay each mold down to pick up the next, a beautiful small blue flower unfolds and rises up out of it.

I am asking them what they are saying but they do not hear or see me – I am invisible – the scar-faced man.

I walk outside but I am now no longer in Quebec – I am out on the Point at Hungry Bay – it’s a moonlit night and the waves are gently washing up against the rocks. In the sound the water makes I hear the Sister’s chant again but clearly this time.

Look over yonder – What do you see?
The sun is a-risin’ – Most definitely
A new day is comin’, – People are changin’
Ain’t it beautiful, – Crystal blue persuasion

Better get ready – Gonna see the light
Love, love is the answer, – And that’s all right
So don’t you give up now, – It’s so easy to find
Just look to your soul – And open your mind

Maybe tomorrow – When he looks down
On every green field – And every town
All of his children – In every nation
There’ll be peace and Brotherhood
Crystal blue persuasion
Yeah

One thought on “Crystal Blue

  1. I love it, the CRYSTAL BLUE, is in “de heart” chatter with your friends and family … Thanks for the salty Water,,, feeling better, but miss the Great BDA people!!!

Leave a Reply

