Score 1 For The Devil

I WANT TO BELIEVE

Funny thing happened yesterday morning. True story!

I hear a knock and I go out to find a very respectable young couple, all smiles, standing on the other side of my front door. Now there are always friendly strangers making their way to my gates – usually to talk about cheese and goats –  so I naturally beam a smile back and we trade “good mornings” in good local fashion.

The young man begins to talk about cheese – but soon he springs it on me.

“That’s just one of the reasons we’ve come see you this morning…” he says pulling out a brochure from his pocket –

Damn! They’re Jehovahs, playin’ “Gotcha!”. But you know what? That’s o.k. with me because I’ve never been accused of being a Christian and so I don’t really have a dog in that fight and I just carry on being as friendly as can be.

And as they professed interest in the cheese and as I’m always ready to share, I say “Come on out and I’ll give you the nickel tour,” and we walk out to the dairy.

While I’m showing them around, I notice a certain distraction has set in with the young man. He’s looking at something over my shoulder and telegraphing communication with his partner. Now she gets it too and they both seem distracted – uneasy even.

Snap! They’ve seen the only thing that adorns my walls out here – my “I WANT TO BELIEVE” poster and its messing with their heads big time! They’re starting to think its “crisscross” time and somehow they’ve been lured into the Devil’s Workshop itself! Visions of flying saucers filled with crazed cloven hooved creatures are dancing in their heads!

“Well thank you much for the tour Mr. Tucker but we need to be pressing on this morning,” the young man says somewhat hurriedly, with his partner shaking her head in agreement. Mulder and Scully they aint – “Sure, sure, of course” I say.

As I watch them walk back to their car I can almost hear him say to his partner “I think we’ll score this one for the Devil.” What a hoot!

2 thoughts on “Score 1 For The Devil

  1. Re: Jehovahs playing “Gotcha”….

    Another good tool to ward off the goolies is to leave a copy of The Urantia Book on display. Along with Flying Saucers this puts your Goats Cheese into a new dynamic dimension where the love of God for the individual brings into being the divine family of all individuals; the universal brotherhood of the freewill children of the Paradise Father. Now you give a cosmic flavor to individualize and characterize the Tucker Goat Cheese Unique Taste, and you give the jovies plenty to dwell on, too.

Leave a Reply

