The Last DaLilha

I had one final cheese left in the ripening fridge – The last DaLilha. A homely, pock-marked thing; its rind’s surface scarred with misshapen crevices, laced deep with anonymous blue/black molds.last DaLilha

When I finally cut into it yesterday (“goodbye old friend” *sniff*.) I wasn’t expecting much – but the weathered rind had done its job of protecting the clean, wheaten-coloured cheese within. And the taste? -reminiscent of any respectable British cheddar!half wheel

It takes me years to learn on my own what a “real” cheesemaker might explain in five minutes – but who would rather hear the story than live the life? – And so I’ll play this one again – with a little more tenderness next time.

Leave a Reply

